Arif Nizami elected as president of the Council of Pakistan Newspaper Editors (CPNE)

KARACHI. Chief Editor of daily Pakistan Today Arif Nizami was elected president of the Council of Pakistan Newspaper Editors (CPNE) and Chief Editor of Roznama Awami Awaz Dr Jabbar Khattak was elected its Secretary General in the annual elections of the council. Editor of Roznama Khabrayn Imtinan Shahid was elected Senior Vice President, Editor of Express Group Ayaz Khan as vice President (Punjab), Chief Editor Monthly Defence Journal Ikram Sehgal as Vice-President (Sindh), Chief Editor Roznama Taqat Rehmat Ali Razi Vice-President (Islamabad), Chief Editor Roznama Ittehad Tahir Farooq Vice-President (KP), Editor Roznama Balochistan Express Arif Siddique Baloch as Vice President (Balochistan). Chief Editor Monthly Kiran Group Amir Mehmood was elected Joint Secretary, Editor Roznama Aman Hamid Hussain Abidi Finance Secretary and Roznama Ummat’s Managing Editor Adnan Malik as Information Secretary.

The office bearers were elected in the meeting of the newly elected standing committee of the CPNE which was presided over by the retiring president CPNE Zia Shahid.

Earlier 44 members of the standing committee were elected for the next year which were Chief Editor of Roznama Jurrat Muhammad Tahir, Chief Editor of Roznama Appeal Sher Muhammad Kharo, Group Editor of Roznama Express Ayaz Khan, Editor of Roznama Jasarat Muzaffar Aijaz, Chief Editor of Roznama Pak Ghulam Nabi Chandio, Editor of Roznama Aman Hamid Hussain Abidi, Editor in-Chief of Daily Indus Post Abdul Rehman Mangrio, Editor of Roznama Khabrayn Imtinan Shahid, Chief Editor of Pakistan Today Arif Nizami, Executive Editor of Roznama Jahan-e-Pakistan Muazzam Fakhar, Group Editor of Daily Din Suhail Danish, Managing Editor of Daily Times Kazim Khan, Chief Editor of Roznama Hotline Zulfiqar Ahmed Rahat, Chief Editor Roznama Taqat Rehmat Ali Razi, Chief Editor of Roznama Lead Pakistan Yahya Khan Sidozai, Chief Editor of Roznama Sabah News Agency Shakil Turabi, Group Editor Roznama Islam Khalilur Rehman, Editor Roznama Balochistan Times Saeed Khawar, Editor Roznama Balochistan Express Arif Siddique Baloch, Chief Editor Roznama Intikhab Anwar Sajidi, Chief Editor Roznama Ittehad Tahir Farooq, Chief Editor Roznama Azadi Swat Mumtaz Ahmed Sadiq, Chief Editor Roznama Alfalah Shamsuzuha, Chief Editor Roznama Mehran Faqir Minthar Mangrio, Chief Editor Roznama Awami Awaz Dr Jabbar Khattak, Editor Roznama Nijat Bashir Ahmed Memon, Chief Editor Roznama Gharib Faisalabad Tanweer Shaukat, Editor of Roznama Soorat-e-Haal Faisalabad Zubair Mehmood Khalid, Chief Editor Roznama Wafa BahawalpurAkmal Chohan, Chief Editor Roznama Qaumi Awaz Multan Nasheed Raee, Editor Online News Agency Abdul Khaliq Ali, Editor Roznama Jahan Numa Waqas Tariq Farooq, Chief Editor Roznama Leader Lahore Ali Ahmed Dhaloon, Editor Roznama Nai Baat Karachi Maqsood Yousfi, Chief Editor Roznama Quaid Peshawar Sardar Naeem, Chief Editor Mahnama Kiran Amir Mehmood, Managing Editor Ummat/Takbeer Karachi Adnan Malik, Chief Editor Mahnama Dosheezah Munazzah Siham, Chief Editor Mahnama Diplomatic Focus Mian Fazal Elahi, Chief Editor Mahnama Farozan Karachi Mehmood Alam Khalid, Chief Editor Mahnama Hospitality Plus Ahmed Shafiq, Chief Editor Mahnama Defence Journal Ikram Sehgal, Chief Editor Mahnama Visionary Karachi Ahmed Iqbal Baloch, Chief Editor Roznama Nao Sij Karachi Zahida Abbasi were elected.

The newly elected president of the CPNE Arif Nizami praised the retiring office bearers of the council including Zia Shahid and Aijazul Haq and said that CPNE served media greatly under their wise leadership. He said that he and his newly elected standing committee will have to face serious challenges against media so that the media could be freed and and the freedom of the press could be maintained from all kinds of political, state and economic pressures.

The annual meeting reviewed the situation of media and journalists in the country and made many important and far reaching decisions. Many resolutions were also passed. CPNE will issue the details of these resolutions today (Sunday).

Meanwhile, Governor Sindh Muhammad Zubair congratulated and hosted a reception in honour of newly-elected office bearers and standing committee at the Governor House.

Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, federal information minister Mariam Aurangzab, chief minister Sindh Murad Ali Shah PML-N president and Punjab chief minister Mian Shahbaz Sharif, chief minister Balcochistan Mir Abdul Quddos Bacinjo, KP Cjhif minister Pervaiz Khattak and Chairman Pak Sarzamin party Mustafa Kamal have congratulated the newly elected president Arif Nizami and other office bearers.


Philippines to import 1.2m tonnes of rice as caps removed