By-polls on 9 seats of ex-PTI MNA on Sept 25


ECP also announced schedule for PTI vacant NA reserved seats from KP
The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Friday announced that by-elections on nine seats of the National Assembly that fell vacant after the resignation of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) MNAs will be held on September 25.
Following a successful vote of no-confidence motion against the former Prime Minister Imran Khan, more than 131 lawmakers of PTI had submitted their resignations from the National Assembly seats. Of which, the National Speaker Raja Pervaiz Ashraf accepted the resignations of 11 MNAs.
In Khyber Pakhtunkhwa the seats on which the by-polls will be held included NA-22 Mardan, NA-24 Charsadda, NA-31 Peshawar and NA-45 Kurram.
In Punjab bye-elections will be held on NA-118 Nankana-Sahib, NA-108 Faisalabad, NA-237 Maliar, NA-239 Korangi Karachi, NA-246 Karachi were among the seats where by-elections has been scheduled by the ECP.
Shireen Mazari, Ali Muhammad Khan, Ijaz Shah, Farrukh Habib, Shandana Gulzar, Fazal Muhammad Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Abdul Shakoor Shad, Jamal Ahmad, and Akram Cheema were those lawmakers whose resignations were approved in the first phase.
A notification issued by the ECP, the nomination papers for the by-elections will be received between August 10 and 13.
List of the nomination candidates will be issued on August 14 and scrutiny of the nomination papers will be carried out by August 17.
The last date for filling of appeals against acceptance or rejection by the returning officers will be August 20 and the appellate tribunal will decide the same on August 25.
According to the ECP notification, the revised lists of candidates will be published on August 26 and candidates may withdraw their nominations by August 27.
The ECP will allot election symbols to the contesting candidates on August 29, it said.
Meanwhile, ECP announced a schedule to PTI for nomination of women candidates on reserved seats vacated in the National Assembly.
According to the provincial election office, Provincial Election Commissioner KP Muhammad Farid Afridi has been appointed Returning Officer.
The schedule issued by the electoral body that nomination papers can be submitted between August 10 and 13 and the party symbol to the party candidates would be allotted on August 29.
The ECP has scheduled August 13 as the last date for PTI to submit their priority list for elections on women reserved seats in the National Assembly.
Political observers have termed the by-elections very critical for both PTI and Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) leaderships.
Sources in the PDM claimed that the leadership of Awami National Party (ANP) and Jamiat-e-Ulema Islam Fazal (JUI-F) has decided to form an alliance on several important NA seats in KP.
They said that the bye-elections will directly influence the PDM number game in the National Assembly, adding that if the alliance fails to bag a majority in upcoming by-elections it may unsettle the weak federal government.
It is to note here that PTI chairman and former Prime Minister Imran Khan has defeated PDM in recent Punjab by-polls and retained the slot of chief minister from PML-N.