Rangoonwala CC Retained Second Corporate Twenty-20 League cricket title


Our Correspondent
Rangoonwala CC retained the title of 2nd Corporate Twenty20 League cricket tournament after six-wicket defeat to Karachi Strikers CC in the final match at the Quaid-e-Azam Park Cricket stadium in Pakistan Steel Township on yesterday.
After bat first in the final, Karachi Strikers CC were restricted for 121 in stipulated 20 overs.Captain Mubbashir Khan was the top scorer with 27 off 38( 4×3), Anus Paracha scored 26 and Usama Khan19. Skipper leg-spinner Ejaz Ahmed snared four wickets for 17 runs while Khalid Khan (1-11) and Rizwan Jadoon (1-13) given excellent support.
Rangoonwala CC, in their Reply, achieved the victory by reaching the modest target with 19 balls to spare, while losing four wickets. Khushal Khan Khattak struck five boundaries in scoring 41 off 28 deliveries while upcoming talented opening batsman Noman ali made 32 off 40 with three fours and Ahmed Abdul Malik with 20 off 15 with two fours.
Medium pacer Haider Ali Took 2-42.
Sports director Rangoonwala group Rizwan Haider graced the occasion as the chief guest and distributed the prizes along with Chief organizer Atiq Ahed.
Rangoonwala CC skipper Ejaz Ahmed received a purse of Rs20,000 with the winners’ trophy, while the runners-up side captain Mubbshir Khan collected Rs10,000 and the trophy.
Ejaz Ahmed was declared man-of-the-match for his excellent bowling. He was also adjudged the player of the tournament he-tournament for scoring 160 runs and claiming 12 wickets.
Other individual prizes went to Ahmed Abdul Malik of Rangionwala CC. He was named best batsman for his aggregate of 271 in the event. Karachi Strikers CC’s Skipper Mubbshir Khan won the best bwler prize for taking 13 wickets.
Speaking on the occasion, chief guest Rizwan Haider congratulated both the finalist team’s while lauded the efforts of chief organiser Atiq Ahmed for organized such as excellent the tournament once again.
Scores in brief:
KARACHI STRIKERS 121-8 in 20 overs ( Mubbashir Khan 27,Anus Paracha 26, Usama Khan19: Ejaz Ahmed 4-17, Khalid Khan1-11, Rizwan Jadoon1-13Zaheer); RANGOONWALA CC 125-4 in 18.1 overs ( Khushal Khan Khattak 41, Noman Ali 32, Ahmed Abdul Malik 20; Ali Haider 2-42).