ECP announces by-elections for 33 NA seats on March 16


Candidates can file their nomination papers with the RO from Feb 6-8, says the electoral watchdog
The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Friday announced that by-elections on 33 seats of the National Assembly (NA) that fell vacant after the resignations of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) lawmakers will be held on March 16.
Following a successful vote of no-confidence motion against the former Prime Minister Imran Khan, more than 131 lawmakers of PTI had submitted their resignations from the National Assembly seats. Of which, the National Speaker Raja Pervaiz Ashraf in the first phase accepted the resignations of 34 MNAs.
Subsequently, the ECP had on January 17 also denotified lawmakers in the question. The electoral watchdog has now decided to hold by-elections on 33 NA seats and announced the schedule for the polls.
According to an ECP statement issued today, the by-elections for the constituencies of NA-04 Swat-III, NA-17 Haripur-I, NA-18 Swabi-1, NA-25 Nowshera-1, NA-26 Nowshera-II, NA-32 Kohat, NA-38 D.I Khan-I, NA-43 Khyber-I, NA-52 Islamabad-I, NA-53 Islamabad-II, NA-54 Islamabad-III, NA-57 Rawalpindi-I, NA-59 Rawalpindi-II, NA-60 Rawalpindi-IV, NA-62 Rawalpindi-VI, NA- 63 Rawalpindi-VII, NA-67 Jhelum-II, NA-Bhakar-I, NA-126 Lahore-IV, NA-130 Lahore-VII, NA-155 Multan-II, NA-156 Multan-III, NA-191 Dera Ghazi Khan-III, NA-Korangi Karachi-III, NA-242 Karachi East-I, NA-243 Karachi East-II, NA-244 Karachi East-III, NA-247 Karachi South-II, NA-Karachi West- III, NA-252 Karachi West-V, NA Karachi Central-IV, and NA-265 Quetta-II will be held on March 16.
The above-mentioned seats of the NA were vacated by lawmakers include Murad Saeed, Omar Ayub Khan, Asad Qaiser, Pervaiz Khattak, Imran Khattak, Sheharyar Afridi, Ali Amin Khan, Noorul Haq Qadri, Raja Khurram Shahzad Nawaz, Ali Nawaz Awan, Asad Umar, Sadaqat Ali Khan, Ghulam Sarwar Khan, Sheikh Rashid Shafique, Mansoor Hayat Khan, Fawad Ahmed, Sanaullah Khan Mastikhel, Hammad Azhar, Shafqat Mahmood, Malik Muhammad Amir Dogar, Shah Mahmood Qureshi, Zartaj Gul, Faheem Khan, Saifur Rehman, Muhammad Alamgir Khan, Syed Ali Haider Zaidi, Aftab Hussain Saddique, Ataullah, Aftab Jehangir, Muhammad Aslam Khan, Muhammad Najeeb Haroon and Qasim Khan Suri. Aliya Hamza Malik and Kanwal Shauzab were among the women lawmakers elected on reserve seats who had also vacated the NA seats.
In addition to the 34 PTI lawmakers, the ECP also de-notified Awami Muslim League (AML) chief Sheikh Rashid Ahmed.
A notification issued by the ECP, the nomination papers for the by-elections will be received between February 6 and 13.
List of the nomination candidates will be issued on February 9 and scrutiny of the nomination papers will be carried out by Feb 13.
The last date for filling of appeals against acceptance or rejection by the returning officers will be Feb 16 and the appellate tribunal will decide the same on Feb 20.
According to the ECP notification, the revised lists of candidates will be published on Feb 21 and candidates may withdraw their nominations by Feb 22.
The ECP will issue the final list and allot election symbols to the contesting candidates on Feb 13, it said. By-elections on the NA seats will be held on March 16.
It is pertinent to mention here that on Jan 25, the Speaker of the NA has accepted 43 more PTI lawmakers resignations. The polls on these constituencies are yet to be announced.