ECP announces schedule for by-LG polls in KP


Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Friday notified that by-local government elections would be held on February 13 on various seats of local councils in six districts of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) where process of election was terminated by the Returning Officer due to death of contesting candidates.
According to details, by-elections will be held, including the seat of City District Council in Dera Ismail Khan, Mayor City Council, General seat in Village Council Kot Issa Khan and seat of Village Council Ratha Kalachi. Council Bagh Iram III Minority Seat, General Seat in Village Council Sur Kamar of Charsadda, Village Council Mir Azam Mechan Khel in Lakki Marwat and General Seats in Neighborhood Council III, Labor and Farmers in Village Council Nawa in Bajaur and Neighborhood Council 15 in Kohat.
According to the schedule, the Returning Officers will scrutinize these papers from January 14 to January 15, 2022. Appeals against the acceptance or rejection of papers by the Returning Officers may be filed from January 17 to 18, 2022.
The Election Tribunal will decide on these appeals by January 21, 2022.
The revised list of candidates will be released on 22nd January 2022, candidates will be able to withdraw their papers till 24th January 2022, election symbols will be allotted to the candidates on 25th January 2022, polling will be held on 13th February 2022 and results will be compiled on 16th February 2022.