FTO Visits RCCI, announce help desk and representation at advisory board


The Federal Tax Ombudsman (FTO) Dr. Asif Mahmood Jah has said paid a visit to the Rawalpindi Chamber of Commerce and Industry (RCCI) and addressed an Public Awareness session for the purpose of “Rectifying Tax network” here on Monday.
He said that FTO has directed the Federal Board of Revenue (FBR) to rectify the maladministration taking place at customs check posts. The multiple complaints were filed regarding harassment leading to corruption at various Customs check-posts on a country wide basis. An unnecessary checking of duty paid goods was causing hindrance and delay in the smooth flow of duty/taxes paid goods and was contrary to the government policy of creating ease in doing business.
Dr Asif Mahmood Jah also announced FTO desk at Chamber house and added that two members from RCCI will be given representation in the advisory board.
He said that he will fulfill the responsibility given to him by the Prime Minister. On the direction of the Prime Minister, a mobile app will be launched soon to address the complaints at a faster pace along with better documentation.
Earlier, RCCI President Nadeem A. Rauf gave a briefing to the Federal Ombudsman. He said that the visit of the Federal Ombudsman to the Chamber along with the FBR and Customs team will help in resolving the problems of the business community. This is a reflection of the strong partnership between the business community and the FBR. The announcement of the establishment of FTO Desk in the Chamber is laudable, he added. Group leader Sohail Altaf said that the trust gap between the FBR and the business community would be bridged by such meetings. As a twin city, Rawalpindi should be taxed at the same rate in Islamabad.
Chief Commissioner Inland Revenue, Dr. Khalid Mahmood Lodhi, Chief Collector Ahmad Raza also spoke on the occasion and noted down the complaints and passed the direction on spot.
Collector Customs Junaid Jalil Khan, Advisor Customs Dr. Arsalan Sabktagin, Advisor IT Ms. Mehbooba Razzaq, Commissioner withholding Zone Ms. Nazia Zeb Ali, Commissioner City Zone Ms. Farhat Qayyum, Commissioner Cantt Zone Abbas Ahmed Mir and others.
President Chamber Nadeem Rauf, Group Leader Sohail Altaf, Senior Vice President Asim Malik, Vice President Talat Awan, Former President Raja Amer Iqbal, Executive Members and representatives of Anjuman-e-Tajiran were present on the occasion.