PM names Sahir Shamshad as CJCSC, Asim Munir as COAS


After weeks of intense speculation and rumours, Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif on Thursday chose Lt Gen Asim Munir and Lt Gen Sahir Shamshad Mirza as the chief of army staff (COAS) and the chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Committee (CJCSC), respectively.

Information Minister Marriyum Aurangzeb made the announcement on Twitter.