PM picks Pervez Khattak as PTI chief in KP


Asad Umar appointed secretary general | Shafqat, Bakhtiar, Suri, Zaidi become provincial presidents
Prime Minister Imran Khan has appointed Defence Minister Pervaz Khattak as new head of Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP).
The announcement was made by the Federal Minister Fawad Chudary through his official Twitter account here on Saturday.
According to the list shared by the federal information minister, PM Khan, who is chairman of the party, has nominated Pervaz Khattak in charge for KP, Minister for Maritime Affairs Ali Zaidi for Sindh, National Assembly Deputy Speaker Qasim Suri for Balochistan, Education Minister Shafqat Mahmood for Punjab, and Minister for Industries and Production Khusro Bakhtiar for South Punjab.
Moreover, in a tweet, shared that the premier has appointed Planning Minister Asad Umar as PTI’s secretary general and Amir Mehmood Kiyani will lead the party as additional secretary general.
Yesterday, all the office bearers including the PTI’s chief organizers have been removed from their posts and a new constitutional committee has been constituted which will include all the senior leadership of the party.
Fawad Chaudhry had said that a committee headed by the top leadership of PTI including the central leadership of KP was working on the new constitution and the same committee will also introduce a new structure of the party.
It is pertinent to mention here that PTI defeat in KP first phase local government elections has alarmed Imran Khan and other senior leadership in the center about the overall performance of the party across the country.
The ruling party has also constituted a separate committee to oversee the tickets awarding process to PTI candidates for the second phase of local body polls in KP.
PTI in local government elections held on December19 showed disappointing performance in KP. The provincial results of 47 the 63 tehsils declared by the provincial election commission, the Jamiat-e-Ulema Islam (JUI-F) won 18 seats of chairman or mayor while ruling PTI managed to bag 12 seats, Awami National Party (ANP) secured six, Jamat-i-Islami (JI), Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) three seats, Pakistan People Party (PPP) and Tehreek-i-Islahat Pakistan (TIP) gained one seat each.
Prime Minister Imran Khan has said that party tickets were not given on merit that led deaft in KP, adding that opposition parties took advantage and scored more than PTI in KP in local body elections.