PML-N secures simple majority in Punjab


Election 2024
Following inclusion of independent candidates, PML-N’s tally in provincial assembly surges to 151
The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has managed to attain a simple majority in the Punjab Assembly as it independently amassed the requisite numbers for government formation.
Following the inclusion of independent candidates, the tally of PML-N in the provincial assembly has surged to 151. When factoring in the allocation of 33 seats for women and 4 for minority communities, the total swells to 188. With government formation requiring the support of 186 members, the PML-N has comfortably surpassed the threshold.
The influx of numerous independent members into the PML-N ranks has effectively paved the way for government formation in Punjab, solidifying the party’s position.
The Punjab Assembly comprises a total of 371 seats, including 297 general seats, 66 reserved for women, and eight earmarked for minorities.
The parties are allotted one reserved seat for women on a ratio of 4.43 directly elected lawmakers. The ratio for seats reserved for minorities is 27 elected representatives.
Moreover, when factoring in the additional support garnered from the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q), and other allied parties, the coalition’s strength could potentially surge to 214 seats.
Earlier in the day, six more newly-elected members of the Punjab Assembly announced their decision to join the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N).
The announcement came during a meeting presided over by Maryam Nawaz Sharif, Senior Vice President of the PML-N and nominee for the position of Punjab chief minister.
The newly joined members include Sultan Bajwa from Nankana Sahib’s PP-132, Shazia Tareen from Lodhran’s PP-225, Mahmood Qadir from DG Khan’s PP-289, Hanif Patafi from DG Khan’s PP-288, Taimur Lali from Chiniot’s PP-94 and Ali Afghan from Layyah’s PP-283.