PML-N, PPP agree to cooperate for Pakistan’s stability


People of Pakistan have given us mandate and we will not disappoint them, leadership of both parties say
The leadership of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) held a crucial meeting in Lahore as the elders of both parties principally agreed to cooperate for Pakistan’s stability following the general elections.
This understanding between the parties was reached during a high-profile meeting, where top leaders from both parties convened to discuss the current political landscape and chart a course for collaboration.
The meeting, which took place at Lahore’s Bilawal House, saw the participation of key figures including PPP President Asif Ali Zardari, PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari, and former prime minister Muhammad Shehbaz Sharif of the PML-N.
According to a joint statement released shortly after the meeting, the leaders engaged in detailed deliberations on various pressing national issues, including economic challenges, governance reforms, and strategies to combat political instability.
The statement said that the leadership of both parties expressed commitment to work together towards ensuring the country’s progress and stability.
Both parties acknowledged the significance of unity and cooperation in addressing the multifaceted challenges facing Pakistan. The people of Pakistan have given us a mandate and we will not disappoint them, the leadership of both parties expressed, according to the statement.
PPP leadership conveyed to the PML-N members that their suggestion would be presented before the party CEC meeting, scheduled to be held on Monday.
PML-N, MQM-P leadership meets
Earlier in the day, the PML-N also held a meeting with MQM-P. A statement by the PML-N stated that the two parties had reached an agreement in ‘principle’ on working together towards forming the next government.
However, soon after the meeting ended, MQM-P Convener Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui said no talks were held on the subject during the meeting.
The PML-N delegation was led by party supremo Nawaz Sharif, and the Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui led MQM-P’s delegation.
Nawaz put on a brave face
In the aftermath of the electoral storm that swept through Thursday’s general elections, leaving behind allegations of pre-poll trickery and delayed results, PML-N supremo Nawaz Sharif put on a brave face by claiming a victory.
In a strategic move, Nawaz unveiled plans to build a coalition, nominating key figures of his party Shehbaz Sharif and Ishaq Dar to engage the PPP and other smaller groups, mainly the component parties that were allies in the previous 16-month term of PDM to form a coalition government with his party at the forefront.
However, his optimistic vision clashes with the stark reality portrayed by the Election Commission of Pakistan’s (ECP) dashboard, which paints a different picture of electoral outcomes.
Independent candidates, an overwhelming majority of them backed by PTI, dominate the tally, and questions arise regarding PML-N’s ability to secure a majority to form a government.
Election results
According to the final results of the parliamentary elections held on February 8, independent candidates, most of them allied to Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, won 101 seats of the National Assembly, which has 336 seats (266 directly elected, 60 reserved for women, and 10 for religious minorities).
These seats are distributed among parties according to the ratio of seats they have won. According to ECP, the PML-N got 75 seats, while the PPP grabbed 54. MQM-P also managed to secure 17 NA seats.
A simple majority of 134 seats is required for a political party or coalition to form the government. Election on one constituency will be held later due to the death of a candidate, while the result of another has been withheld.