Noor Alam Khan to be new PAC Chairman as Rana Tanvir resigns


Following the resignation by Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) member of the National Assembly (MNA) Rana Tanveer Hussain as the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) chairman, the government has decided to appoint Noor Alam Khan, a dissident Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) MNA as the committee chairman.
According to details, PML-N’s Rana Tanvir has resigned as Chairman PAC while Shehbaz Sharif, Raja Pervaiz Ashraf, Amir Dogar and Riaz Fatyana are also no longer part of the committee.
On the other hand, Wajiha Qamar will also be made part of the PAC. MNA Noor will take charge of his office day after tomorrow (Monday).
In yet another development, the PTI has boycotted the formation of a parliamentary committee to be formed to draft the electoral reforms.
Sources said that despite having representation in the Senate, the party had refused to forward names of its senators to the chairman for the committee.
The government, on the other hand, has decided to go ahead with the formation of the body without the PTI.
The NA speaker is expected to form the committee by next week.