PML-N’s candidate gets 224 votes, SIC candidate bagged 96 votes


Malik Ahmed elected Punjab Assembly speaker
Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Malik Ahmed Khan on Saturday was elected as a new speaker of the Punjab Assembly after securing 224 votes.
Sunni Ittehad Council (SIC) candidate Ahmad Khan Bhachar bagged 96 votes.
The Punjab Assembly session to elect the House’s speaker and deputy speaker kicked off this evening after a delay of one-and-a-half hours as the protests inside and outside the legislative marred the timely beginning of the meeting.
The second session of the newly-elected provincial assembly, presided over by outgoing Speaker Sibtain Khan, saw members of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and Sunni Ittehad Council (SIC) chanting slogans against each other.
A heavy police force and prison vans were also present outside the assembly to ensure the maintenance of law and order during the assembly session.
Mian Aslam is not in police ‘custody’: Sibtain Khan
Punjab Assembly’s outgoing Speaker Sibtain Khan has revealed that PTI leader Mian Aslam was not in police custody, adding that he would take the oath when he joins the House.
Talking to journalists, the speaker said that the ECP did not announce the results of 26 reserved seats for women and minorities.
“If the ECP does not announce the results for 10 days, how can I stop the proceedings for so long,” asked the speaker.